What to Do When You Don’t Know What to Write

You can’t always can’t on the muse to be there

Daniel P. Donovan
2 min readDec 4, 2020
Photo by Ryan Snaadt on Unsplash

As a writer, staring at a blank screen kinda sucks.

You rack your brain trying to come up with ideas, but there’s nothing there. Somehow, you’ve forgotten everything you know.

And the more you try, the harder it gets.

It’s funny. Some days, the material’s right at the forefront of your thoughts, begging to be written about.

But then there are other days when the muse just simply isn’t there.

What do you do then?

How do you write something when you have no idea what to write about?

I struggled with this question for a long time.

Often, I would sit in front of my computer and stare off into space, hoping something would come to me.

Alas, nothing ever did.

It was only when I started typing that the juices started flowing.

Take this article, for example.

Here I am, sitting in front of my computer with no idea what to write, thinking to myself “this sucks.” So what do I do, I write exactly that — “As a writer, staring at a blank screen kinda sucks.”

And with that one line, I was off to the races. The rest flowed like hot molten lava down a beautiful Hawaiian hill.

So when you’re struggling to find something to write about…

JUST START WRITING.

Write about how you feel. Write about hating the blank screen. Write about cursing the muse for never showing up.

It doesn’t matter.

What matters is that your fingers start moving.

Because once they do, the rest starts flowing pretty quick.

Morning person? Night owl?

Either way, there’s an untapped fortune lying hidden in your schedule. If you’re finally ready to discover it, click right here and I’ll show you how.

--

--